National Coaching Awards

Coaching and coaches form a critical part of the squash landscape in New Zealand. Coaches from across the country at all levels donate their time and knowledge to allow athletes to not only improve their game but to also to enjoy the game to its potential.

Established in 2002, the Squash New Zealand National Coaching Awards recognise the hard work and endeavour that coaches put in on a weekly basis.

Awards Categories

There are three award categories which are aligned with the National Coach Development Framework:

New Coach of the Year: a coach who has been coaching for 2 years or less at any level.

Club and School Coach of the Year:  a coach who is working with junior or senior athletes in a club or school setting (this could include coaching individuals, junior programmes, beginner coaching, schools coaching and graded teams).

Performance Coach of the Year: a coach who is working with athletes at a District Representative Level or above, and / or working with a District Performance Squad.

Judging Criteria

When deciding a judging panel considers the following:

  • Coach development - number of modules attended and other learning opportunities taken
  • Coach activity - number of hours coached and types of programmes / services offered
  • Athlete outcomes - evidence of improving players / teams performances to achieve results
  • Coach's impact - influence that the coach has had on participation / membership

2015 Winners

New Coach of the Year: Keri Rhodes (Northland)

In 2015 Keri upskilled himself in five of the available coach learning modules from the Coach Development Framework and attended the National Coaching Conference. This knowledge better enabled him to effectively deliver junior programmes and work with the school-aged players at the Manaia and Waipu Squash Clubs – both of whom showed an increase in junior numbers this year.

Club & School Coach of the Year: Manu Yam (Auckland)

2015 was a productive and successful year for full-time coach Manu, who not only delivered a range of different programmes at a number of clubs and schools based on the North Shore, but worked with a range of individual players as well. Manu’s input over the past 12 months has seen an increase in the number of players taking part in the clubs and schools and improved ability of the players with whom he works with on a daily basis. PB270031

Performance Coach of the Year: Mike Allred (Canterbury)

Mike Allred helped guide the senior men’s team to their first ever national team title and both the Masters teams to victory. Paul Coll (men’s individual title) and Megan Craig (women’s runner up) also benefitted from Mike’s coaching, as well as a number of other individuals who medalled.

* Squash Canterbury Manager Kim Paviell and President Michael Taylor pictured.


Previous Winners

YearNew Coach of the YearClub and School Coach of the YearPerformance Coach of the Year
2014 Sally Stantiall, Central Graeme Randolph, Bay of Plenty Kashif Shuja, Central
2013 Jarrod van Driel, Brown's Bay Paul Roughan, Marlborough SC Robbie Wyatt, Bay of Plenty
2012 Stu Fraser, Eden Epsom Murray Sutherland, Hawkes Bay SRC Carol Owen, Eden Epsom/Auckland
2011 Nirelle McDonald, Northland Nick Wiffen, Wellington Mark Waldin, Auckland
2010 Jason Wilson, Canterbury Jared Gravatt, Northland Joanne Williams, Waikato

The awards were changed in 2010 to align with the new National Coach Development Framework

YearCoach of the YearJunior Coach of the YearTeam Coach of the Year
2009 Manu Yam, Belmont Park Paul Cornish, Devonport Mike Allred, Canterbury
2008 Keith Redman, Hawkes Bay Grant Watts & Karl Fraser, SquashGym Palmerston North Lyndon Templeton, Katikati
2007 Julie Hawkes, Auckland Matthew Ellis, Waikato  
2006 Tanya Colyer, Taupo Bill Berry, Malvern Graham Brownrigg, Geyser City
2005 Danny McQueen, Geyser City Jenny Bell, Cambridge Shannon Patangata, Edgecumbe
2004 Edmund Bradford, Surf City Christine Barnett, Mitchell Park Peter Simpson, Palmerston North
2003 Nick Mita, Christchurch Marilyn Kennedy, Cambridge  
2002 Mark Gribben, Otago Brett Watene and Charlie Moeke, Whakatane Paul Kenny, Wanganui

Sponsors and Supporters