Junior Development Squad

The objective of the Junior Development Squad is to educate and prepare players for the demands of World Class Squash, future Elite Junior Squads and contention for selection to represent New Zealand at International Events. The expectation is that once players are ineligible due to their age (over 17), they will have progressed to the Elite Junior Squad, or be working towards a career as a professional player.

A maximum of 16 players will be selected based on age, recent form, ability (technical, tactical & physical), attitude (commitment & desire) and professionalism.

The aims of this squad are:

  • To identify New Zealand's most talented young players
  • To introduce them to, and prepare them for, the demands of international squash
  • To produce players who can win medals at future World Junior Championships and/or gain selection into the National Squad

Squad members will be selected each year following the Junior Nationals (usually held in October), with activity begining early the following year. Continued membership of the squad will depend on commitment and performance and may be reviewed at any time.

Selection Criteria

The selection criteria for this squad are:

  • Players who are eligible to play in the Under 17 (or younger) age group at the Junior Nationals in 2014
  • Players who are deemed to have the ability and potential to gain selection into a World Junior Team or to pursue careers as squash professionals
  • Players who have expressed a desire to commit to a comprehensive weekly training programme.

Camp Dates 2015

  • 23-24 May
  • 26-27 September


Robbie Wyatt and Joanne Williams will manage this squad in 2015. The High Performance Coach will provide guidance in the technical and tactical aspects of the camp meetings and the National Strength and Conditioning Coach will provide guidance in the fitness and strength levels required for international performance.

Squad Members

  • Kiriana Andrew
  • Ruby Beresford
  • Zoe Dykzeul
  • Mackenzie Johnson
  • Kelsey Manuatu
  • Rhiarne Taiapa
  • Courtney Trail
  • Ruby Turnbull
  • Temwa Chileshe
  • Jack Demchy
  • Sean Dykes
  • Anthony Lepper
  • Caleb Madden
  • Gabe Yam
  • Glenn Templeton
  • Elijah Thomas
  • Kobe Fleming
  • Leo Fatialofa

Sponsors and Supporters