Latest News

Epke, Jones take North Island under 19 Titles

Top seeds Ellie Epke and Luke Jones have won the under 19 titles at the North Island Junior Championships.

Epke claimed the girls title after a sensational clash against Hayley Hughes in the final.  The two Aucklanders went toe to toe for five thrilling games, before Epke finally prevailed 9-11, 11-5, 11-8, 7-11, 11-9.2012 Ellie Epke (small)

Likewise, Jones, from SquashGym in Palmerston North, had to fight hard to get past Auckland's Sion Wiggin in the boys final, but eventually edged home 11-6, 11-9, 7-11, 13-11.

Meanwhile, young Aucklander Abbie Palmer has scooped another title.  Having already won both the under 19 and under 17 age groups at the South Island Championships in Oamaru, Palmer has now taken out the under 17 title in Hamilton as well, beating Central's Kaitlyn Watts 15-9, 15-11, 15-8 in the title decider.

Jamie Oakley also had plenty to smile about, showing that his mum, Dame Susan Devoy is not the only one capable of winning titles.  Oakley proved too good for Auckland's Rafa Yam in the under 17 boys final, winning 15-3, 15-9, 15-6.

Final Results

Girls U19

1. Ellie Epke (Auckland) def 2. Hayley Hughes (Auckland) 9/11 11/5 11/8 7/11 11/9
Winner Ellie Epke
Runner up Hayley Hughes
3rd place Jacinta Matson (Northland)

Girls U17

1. Abbie Palmer (Auckland) def 3. Kaitlyn Watts (Central) 15/9 15/11 15/8
Winner Abbie Palmer
Runner up Kaitlyn Watts
3rd place Anna Hughes (Auckland)

Girls U15

4. Courtney Trail (Central) def 3. Zoe Dykzeul (Northland) 15/6 13/15 15/5 15/8
Winner Courtney Trail
Runner up Zoe Dykzeul
3rd place Rhiarne Taiapa (Eastern)

Girls U13

1. Anika Jackson (Waikato) def 2. Charlotte Galloway (Wellington) 15/3 13/15 15/12 15/6
Winner Anika Jackson
Runner up Charlottle Galloway
3rd place Annaleise Faint (Central)

Girls U11

3. Natalie Sayes (Auckland) def 4. Manaia Pene (Bay of Plenty) 15/11 15/14 15/6
Winner Natalie Sayes
Runner up Manaia Pene
3rd place Diana Galloway (Wellington)

Boys U19

1. Luke Jones (Central) def 2. Sion Wiggin (Auckland) 11/6 11/9 7/11 13/11
Winner Luke Jones
Runner up Sion Wiggin
3rd place Ben Thornton (Waikato)

Boys U17

2. Jamie Oakley (Bay of Plenty) def 5. Rafa Yam (Auckland) 15/13 15/9 15/6
Winner: Jamie Oakley
Runner up Rafa Yam
3rd place Corbin Faint (Central)

Boys U15

1. Matthew Lucente (Auckland) def 3. Anthony Lepper (Auckland) 15/9 15/2 15/5
Winner Matthew Lucente
Runner up Anthoney Lepper
3rd place Matthew Yam (Auckland)

Boys U13

1. Glenn Templeton (Bay of Plenty) def 2. Elijah Thomas (Auckland) 15/7 15/12 15/8
Winner: Glenn Templeton
Runner up Elijah Thomas
3rd place Leo Fatialofa (Auckland)

Boys U11

1. Joe Smythe (Wellington) def 2. Mason Smales (Auckland) 15/13 15/17 15/9 15/9
Winner Joe Smythe
Runner up Mason Smales
3rd place Apa Fatialofa (Auckland)

NIAG winners medium

<< Back

Our Partners

Website by