Senior Events

Below are a list of events which exist for all men and women to play and compete in during the squash season. Squash New Zealand, in partnership with host clubs, organises these events each year and each event has slightly different regulations. Check out the details on the event, upcoming event details, results, rules, past winners and how to host them below.


New Zealand Squash Championships 

The New Zealand Senior National Individual Championships are contested annually, and represent the pinnacle of national competition for New Zealand players. The event is closed to international players - only New Zealand residents may enter. Since 1932 the men have played for the Riddiford Gold Cup, while the women have competed for the Mitchell Rose Bowl since 1951. The event is rich in heritage and history - the honours roll is a genuine who's who of New Zealand Squash.

New Zealand District Team Championships

The New Zealand Senior Inter-District Teams Championship event was introduced in 1972. The MC Day Cup (Men) and the KA Mackwell Cup (Women) are fiercely contested by teams of four players from each district. This is another event that is rich with heritage and parochial pride.  

Mens Winners

Cousins Shield and Mitchell Cup

The Cousins Shield and Mitchell Cup are the premier club teams events for men and women respectively in New Zealand squash. Highly sought after, these awards have been contested since 1948 (Cousins Shield) and 1958 (Mitchell Cup). The Cousins Shield event pits teams of five men per club against other clubs. The club that wins three or more matches wins the tie. The Mitchell Cup follows the same format, but has variously been contested by teams of four or five players in different years.


G.J.Gardner Homes National SuperChamps

The District SuperChamps events are played to identify the strongest club in the respective district for each grade. The National SuperChamps events are played to identify the strongest club from each district for each grade. Teams are composed of five players, of the same sex, from the same club, who are of the same or a lower grade (B, C, D, E and F/J). At the District SuperChamps clubs in a single district play off to find the District Champion in each grade. The District Champion is then eligible to travel to the National SuperChamps finals to play off for the national title representing their club and their district.


New Zealand Doubles Championships 

The New Zealand Doubles Championships have been contested since 2011. The event began with just Men's, Women's and Mixed draws however in 2013 there saw the addition of a Men's and Women's over 35 and a Men's over 50. 


National Graded Championships  (Previously Champion of Champions)

The Champion of Champions ran for the first time in 2012. The format is similar to that of the Super Champs, but played on an individual basis. District Champion of Champions events will be held in each district, where entrants will play off for the title of District Champion for each grade (A-F, men and women). These champions will also earn the right to represent their district at the National Champion of Champions event, at which the eleven District Champions in each grade will fight for the title of Champion of Champions in their grade.


New Zealand Senior Age Groups and Senior Social Teams (New Event) 

(Cancelled 2024, will continue in 2025)


Ngā Hau E Whā (Māori Squash Tournament) 

Nga Hau E Wha (From all four winds), Maori Squash Association's National Championship

Ready for a challenge?

Search our event calendar to find an event near you or make sure you download our pocket or wall calendar from the right hand side.  

Aspire to play at a higher level?

Discover what we offer to support athletes along the performance pathway here and what international opportunities exist for the best players in the country here.

Major Partner

Programme & Team Partners

Community & Youth Development Partner

Community Trust Supporters


Website by