Latest News

Final results from Secondary Schools Champs

Final round results from the National Secondary Schools Championships held in Cambridge last week.

Some exciting results with Epsom Girls Grammar and Tauranga Boys High School taking out the titles for the second year in a row.

Trans-Tasman teams have also been named ahead of the series taking place between 27-30 August. The four teams named at the Secondary School Champs will play against Queensland and New South Wales State Secondary School teams from Tuesday - Thursday, and then against a combined Australian Secondary Schools side on the Friday. 

The Queensland and New South Wales teams arrive in New Zealand this Saturday, and will attend the Bledisloe Cup match on Saturday night before warm up matches in Wellington with local players on Sunday. On Monday the teams travel to Palmerston North ahead of the tri-series matches to be played from Tuesday - Thursday. At the Thursday night formal event dinner, the Australians will name a secondary schools side to compete in a one off test match on the Friday morning.

Below are the final results from the Secondary School Champs and the teams named for the Trans-Tasman series.


Champions: Tauranga Boys College

Runners up:  Westlake Boys High School


Champions: Epsom Girls

Runners up:  Palmerston North Girls

Trans-Tasman Series Teams

Senior Boys

Sion Wiggin (Westlake Boys’)

Jackson Beresford (Christchurch Boys’)

Max Trimble - captain (Whangarei Boys’)

Josh Oakley (Tauranga Boys’)

Chapman Kutia (Gisbourne Boys’)

Luke Jones (Palmerston North Boys’)

(Due to the closeness of selection six players were chosen)

Coach/Manager: Kashif Shuja


Junior Boys

Alex Revington (Tauranga Boys’)

Jamie Oakley (Tauranga Boys’)

Finn Trimble (Whangarei Boys’)

Rafa Yam (Westlake Boys’)

Quinn Udy (Malborough Boys’)

Non travelling reserve Corbin Faint (Palmerston North Boys’)

Coach/Manager: Alan Stern


Senior Girls

Jacinta Matson – captain (Whangarei Girls’)

Emily Nash (Palmerston North Girls’)

Devon Wright (Westlake Girls’)

Taylor Ashton (Sacred Heart Girls’ Hamilton)

Casey Owen (Thames High Girls’)

Non travelling reserve Nikki Kennedy (Thames High School)

Coach/Manager: Nic Dann


Junior Girls

Camden Tekani-McQueen (Rotorua Lakes High School)

Nadia Hubbard (Rotorua Lakes High School)

Parearau Kutia (Gisbourne Girls’ High School)

Courtney Trial (Palmerston North Girls’)

Kiriana Andrew (Marlborough Girls’)

Non travelling reserve Ruby Beresford (Christchurch Girls’)

Coach/Manager: Jason Fletcher and Kelly Faint

View the PDF files below for final rankings. Full results and scores will be posted later.

 Boys Secondary Schools Champs Final Results (54k)

 Girls Secondary Schools Champs Final Results (50k)

For more information about the Secondary Schools Championship see our NZ Secondary Schools Squash Association page.

<< Back

Our Partners

Website by